Don’t Say I Didn’t Warn You!!! Shameless!!!

      Gentle Readers, we are all upset over what we saw yesterday but that is how it goes.
     I am not talking about the American’t elections…this is about the new version of Shameless, to be shown on Showtime, dammit!
     Americans are so culturally pathetic that even our best TV shows are usually stolen from the BBC. Note the success of shows like All in the Family, Sanford and Son, The Office and all of those reality shows that suck so much. To take a show and use the idea in another country is one thing but to steal it and carry a whole neighborhood across the Atlantic Ocean, instead of creating characters with aptly-used american names is just stupid. Not many normal US families have kids names Ian, Liam, Phillip, Orla, etc…it doesn’t fit. It is contrived.
     Shameless, my favorite show from England (and one of the few good things to come from that section of the island besides music) has been co-opted to the american market with William H, Macy in the role of patriarch, Frank. I respect the work that Macy has done from Fargo to The Cooler to Radio Days and his great body of work on television. 

   There is no replacing David Threlfall, who played Frank Gallagher for 82 priceless episodes. That is his picture at the top, by the way. He was perfect for the part and quickly became my latest role model…one that I will have to give up.
     Right now I feel lower than the mumbling spectre of Baccarat Obama, who i hear in the background as I type, making excuses and trying to save face. Had he listened to the people who elected him, he would be much happier today. So fuck him.
     In a way this is a good thing. I wanted to turn off the cable TV and Shameless was the only reason I didn’t. Comcast is the only cable company to have The Sundance Channel, which showed Shameless (the real version). All seven seasons are now on DVD so I can say fuck Comcast as well as the endless stream of political idiocy I have been readng online and seeing too much lately.
     Hearing Macy read through the opening credits, naming the kids and neighbors, standing there watching the car burn in the middle of the road with a pint can in his hand and the cops show up, and saying Frank’ intro-line “knows how to throw a party?’ was a surprising event. At first, I thought it was a dream. Often, I drift off in front of the telly and dream up my own shows. I lay there watching a show that I make up in my head until I drop the beer in my lap and it wakes me and I smile to myself, knowing it was a good show. That was not the case in this instance.
     Next, I thought it was a parody…a take off of Shameless on some comedy show. I was wrong. Showtime is wrong. Obama is wrong. The whole freaking world is wrong!!!!!
     If you have seen the adverts on Showtime in between peeking at Dexter, then go to Netflix or even Youtube and compare the opening credits. Dexter, by the way also comes in book form and is just as entertaining as the Showtime version. I have not seen it on Showtime since I fell behind in the series by Jeff Lindsay. The first book is called Darkly Dreaming Dexter. Try it. Reading. It can be good.

     At any rate, there is no replacing Frank Gallagher into an american setting. People may laugh but I won’t hear it. If they are going to use the same scripts and the same dialogue that I have been enjoying for the past seven seasons, what is the sense? It is like making a weekly show out of Sartre’s trilogy. It is ruining art. People do not act like Frank in this country. It is too uptight and square here.

     What was Mr. Macy thinking of? His taste and choice of roles has always been so good. How could he watch Shameless and think it could be obamacized to fit this cultureless cesspool they call the american media.

     All I can think about is: what would Frank say?

     Make Poverty History! Cheaper Drugs Now!!

Leave a comment

Filed under essays, news, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

